HOW TO PRACTICALLY OPERATE IN GOD’S SHOES (PT. 86)

WHAT ARE “MIRACLES, SIGNS AND WONDERS?”

Let’s begin with miracles. There are three Greek words translated as miracle in the English bible, they are ‘semeion’ which is ‘sign’, ‘teras’ which is ‘wonder’ and ‘dynamis’ which is ‘power’. We see that miracles can come in form of a sign, a wonder or a demonstration of power. A miracle is an event which inspires wonder or awe in people, one which cannot be explained by the natural understanding of things. These are events in the physical world that defy all known human or natural ability. Miracles happen on the earth, within human societies, amongst people and in the way of life of humans. Miracles are not stories, they are events, they are not things you talk about, they are things that happen.

Signs are indications. For example, if I tell you that the water in the kettle is hot, you might or might not know what it means for water to be hot, even if you know, you might not be sure I am sure of what I am saying, the way to clear up this uncertainty is to have something indicate the actual condition of the water in the kettle. The quickest way to have that is to touch the kettle, once you do that, you will get an indication of the temperature of the water inside the kettle. Another example is when I say “I am fine.” You will instinctively look at my face to see the expression on it. If there’s a convincing smile on it, you will believe me, otherwise, you will know that I am not telling you everything.

So, if I come to you, telling you to repent and believe Jesus, that if you do, He will heal you of your sickness. But then, you know me, you know that every little illness that come to me, I run off to the doctors or to the pharmacy for drugs, you will know in your heart that I am not telling you the truth, because there is no ‘sign’ in my life to support what I am saying to you. If I tell you that God is love, and I want you to let Him come into your heart just as He is in mine, but you know that I don’t walk in love toward people around me, you will doubt what I’m preaching to you. It is either I am lying to you, or I am saying what I don’t know, so there is no power in my words. The most effective message to preach is the one that has produced visible results in your life. That is why the scriptures say…

For I will not venture to speak of anything except what Christ has accomplished through me to bring the Gentiles to obedience—by word and deed, by the power of signs and wonders, by the power of the Spirit of God—so that from Jerusalem and all the way around to Illyricum I have fulfilled the ministry of the gospel of Christ; and thus I make it my ambition to preach the gospel, not where Christ has already been named, lest I build on someone else’s foundation, but as it is written, “Those who have never been told of him will see, and those who have never heard will understand.” (Romans 15:18-21 ESV)

Signs and wonders has to follow you, if you truly are sent by God.
We will talk about ‘wonders’ and ‘power’ tomorrow.
(YOU ARE AS CHRIST IS. Ephesians 2:13-16, Galatians 2:18-20)

Further Discussions:
+234 809 819 0234
e.nwokoye@theschooloftruth.com

Leave a Reply

