TASTE AND SEE!


But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him. (Hebrews 11:6 NKJV)

There is a popular old proverb from the early 14th century that goes, “all the proof of a pudding is in the eating”. One of the reason why a lot of people find the biblical teaching of denying oneself and subscribing ones value system and paradigm completely to the will and intent of God is simple; it’s because by all physical and “practical” indications they are in the best position to make the decisions about their own life, not some “very old”, if not “outdated” book. They can’t really see how possibly the bible can understand what they’re going through and offer any “practical” help. They seem to have figured it all out on their own. They prefer “practical” and “realistic” solutions.

If you think like that, then hear this; the things you want are in the hands of the thing you detest. The scripture says when a mans ways pleases The Lord, He makes even his enemies at peace with him. My dears, I have tasted, and I have seen that The Lord is good. The closer I get to Him, the more I see that His way is incomparably better than mine. The proof of a pudding is in the eating. You see, you may not understand this proverb if you do not know what a pudding looked like back in the 14th century. It was the intestine of an animal stuffed with a mixture of minced meat, suet, oatmeal, seasoning, etc., and boiled’.

I implore you today brothers and sisters, the idea of giving up control of your life to God may look ridiculous or daunting, in fact, your enemy makes it his business to raise thoughts in your mind, thoughts that keep trying to ensure you don’t see the wisdom in that act of surrender. My dears, if God puts His signature on that cheque; on that thing you want in life, you will cash it with satisfaction. God declares about Jesus, “this is My beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased”. Why? Jesus’ life on earth was an expression of faith. Look at what He said in John 5:30 NIrV, “I can do nothing by myself. I judge only as I hear. And my judging is fair. I do not try to please myself. I try only to please the One who sent me.

This is an expression of faith in the absolute authority, ultimate power and irrefutable wisdom of God. This is what is takes to please God; to agree completely with Him in all things. Do you?
O LORD COME SOON!

Leave a Reply

